Welcome to the Barbados Parliament Buildings
PLEASE NO FOOD OR DRINKS ALLOWED WHILE ON THE TOUR, ONLY IN THE DINING ROOM
Today’s Lively Lecture by Historians, Achirri Adams and Sir Henry Fraser at 3:00 p.m. Entertainment by Artists from All Stars Calypso Tent and the Coleridge & Parry School Band Welcoming Tour Guides will lead you through the East Wings’ hallowed halls.
“More perhaps than any other building in Barbados, the ‘Public Buildings’ may exercise a powerful effect on us and the ways in which we regard the functions carried out within the building.........it is of great importance to retain the visual symbols of stability, authority and emotional values, and in the words of our national anthem, that ‘pride that binds our hearts from coast to coast —the pride of nationhood’. Our Parliament Buildings are all of these. They are truly Treasures of Barbados.” Henry Fraser
THE BARBADOS PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS: HISTORICAL OUTLINE
The origins of parliamentary democracy can be traced back to medieval England, where the British Parliament evolved from advisory councils to the monarchy into a structured legislative body in the 13th century. Over time, this model influenced governance across the British Empire, including
Barbados — a British colony from 1627 which established its own Parliament in 1639. Today, the Barbados Parliament stands as the third oldest in the Commonwealth, only after the United Kingdom and Bermuda with a history spanning near 400 years.
The early formation of a legislature in Barbados was initiated by Governor Henry Hawley, who introduced a structure modeled on the English Parliament. The first Barbadian House of Assembly emerged from a Council of early landowners who assisted Hawley in governing the island, offering elected representation—though only to the landowning minority.
FROM PIILLAR TO POST: THE ‘MOVEABLE’ PARLIAMENT (1639 – 1874)
Despite this foundation, for over two centuries, the Assembly had no fixed meeting place, shifting from one location to another. It convened in rented spaces, private homes, and, quite often, in taverns and alehouses throughout Bridgetown. The transience of these meeting spaces did not go unnoticed by the newly arrived Governor Atkins who, attending a session at Gwynn’s Tavern in 1674, remarked in bewilderment: “I must confess I am a little astonished to see so honorable an Assembly meet in a place so considerable as the island is, and have no house to receive us, but a public tavern.”
The first recorded venue was ‘Session’s House,’ (mid-1600s) believed to have been erected by Governor Henry Hawley, possibly for judicial purposes. It was situated near Spry Street/ lower Roebuck Street; close to the Central Bank —a monument commemorating its former presence was unveiled there in 1989.
Other recorded venues used for early parliamentary sessions included: State House, the Town Hall, New Town Hall and Codd’s House all located in the Bridgetown area, however, longstanding favourites were Gwynn’s Tavern and the Roebuck Tavern (1670s onwards)—often involving the consumption of copious amounts of alcohol. In fact, it was at one of these meetings held at the Roebuck that Governor Hawley reputedly fell down the steps—perhaps a little too intoxicated —tragically dying from his injuries.
Eventually, the necessity for a secure, purpose-built, more dignified Parliament House became evident. John Glasgow Grant, a member of the Assembly, had been advocating for the erection of Public Buildings since 1857, when the impetus for such an undertaking came with the Great Fire of Bridgetown in 1860. The fire devastated the town, but did provide the opportunity for the legislature to acquire land for this public use. Thus, in 1870, the construction of the Parliament Buildings was begun on the site referred to as, the “New Burnt District”
(Today, the area of Upper Broad Street and National Heroes Square). Built over a five year period, the Public Buildings (the designated name at that time) were finally inaugurated in 1874.
The legislature had come a far way from its humble beginnings; meeting in alehouses and taverns to the grandeur of the ‘Public Buildings’ which were officially renamed the ‘Parliament Buildings’ by an Act of Parliament in 1989.
ARCHITECTURE, DESIGN, MATERIALS & CONSTRUCTION
The Parliament Buildings are a masterpiece of nineteenth century neo-Gothic architecture with their beautiful Gothic arcades; facades to breezy verandas, richly carved coral stone detailing and lovely louvered windows inthe Barbadian style. They were initially designed by Peter Paterson in 1857; but later modified by John Bourne, Superintendent of Public Works. The Parliament Buildings are constructed from local coral limestone and consist of two wings, each serving distinct functions. The West Wing, built by Benjamin L. Harris for £13,750, was begun in 1870 and completed in 1872, and Richard F. Roberts started work on the East Wing a year later for £11,750; completing this section in
1873. Together, these imposing edifices showcase the craftsmanship of the period; boasting architectural gems that include the iconic Clock Tower, which proudly flies our national flag, as well as the grand Cathedral-styled, green cast iron grilled gates; and matching green cast iron railings —observed running the length of the premises. These adornments were manufactured by the British firm Andrew Handyside & Co. Ltd.; and are indicative of the era of Victorian ironwork. These grilled gates are not just decorative features (seen from the central courtyard of the buildings), but also serve as security barriers. Over the 20th century, major renovations and restorations (stained glass was re-leaded and audio/visual systems installed etc.) were carried out in order to modernize the buildings —great care was taken to preserve the buildings’ historical charm. In 2011, the historical significance of the Parliament Buildings was recognized when they were designated as part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison.
HOUSED IN THE PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS: PAST & PRESENT
The West Wing: Initially housed the Clock Tower and government offices, such as the office of the Colonial Secretary and the Customs office —two stained glass windows that were once positioned above the Customs Office display the biblical quote, “Render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s.” This Wing was refurbished in 2006 to mark the island’s 40th year of independence. The Museum of Parliament and the National Heroes Gallery are now situated here.
The East Wing: Is home to the Barbados Senate and House of Assembly, but in the past, it has accommodated; amongst others, the Public Library, the Postmaster General’s Office and Post Office (both the money order, and stamps & parcels departments were actually situated in the north ends of the two wings, until the remodelling done in the 1960s, when a wing was added to the east wing for the entrance to the public gallery).
TREASURES OF THE PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS: KEY FEATURES
A defining feature of the Barbados Parliament Buildings, and one of Bridgetown’s most recognizable
landmarks, is the Clock Tower which was originally part of the East Wing. Though an impressive design, the East Wing’s poor soil conditions —primarily mud, could not support the structure’s weight. The unstable tower was dismantled in 1884, and by 1886, had been relocated to the West Wing’s South Tower. The Clock was designed by John Moore & Sons of Great Britain in 1875 and features a 14-foot pendulum and 7-foot copper dials. It was built to run for eight days; allowing it to operate while being wound. The hour bell weighs about 2,240Ibs with four quarter-hour bells adding to its distinctive chime. In 2010, Tropical Storm Tomas damaged the clock, freezing its hands at 2:12 (good luck numbers?). English Company, Smith of Derby Group successfully restored it, so happily, the clock is still in good working order; and though once manually wound, it is now completely digitalized (Check it for time, so that you don’t miss today’s Lively Lecture!). The Corridor to the Senate: Arrive via the prestigious main entrance of the East Wing and ascend the awesome flight of stairs to the upper landing. A turn right leads you to the Senate Chamber. Observe en route, photographic portraits of Dame Edna Bourne, Dame Billie Miller, and Shirley Chisholm, all women who were firsts in their various legislative roles. Peep in at the Prime Minister’s Press Conference Room also on the right.
The Senate Chamber: Commanding centre stage is the magnificent mahogany Senate table (150 years old) and chairs—some of them were made by prisoners; while a pair of Waterford crystal chandeliers overhead, were a gift from department store, Cave Shepherd & Co. Ltd. to commemorate Parliament’s 350th anniversary. The rich stained-glass windows in the Senate are particularly noteworthy, showcasing the armorial bearings of former Presidents of the Legislative Council (which preceded the Senate) and Speakers of the House of Assembly. Along the walls, artwork by well-known local artists and photographers, have replaced British works (e.g. the painting of Queen Elizabeth II was replaced with that of Barbados’ President, Dame Sandra Mason). The House of Assembly Chambers: Adorning the lofty heights of this august chamber are more stunning stained-glass windows in vivid colour which were crafted by London firm Clayton & Bell and depict British rulers from James I to Queen Victoria (Oliver Cromwell too!). This chamber also features finely carved wooden furnishings (mahogany in the majority) such as, the formidable Speaker’s Chair. The Speaker’s Chair bears great significance; commensurate with the importance of the Speaker of the House, who is the official voice of
Parliament. It was a gift from the Government of India to Barbados’ on its Independence in 1966. Beautifully hand-carved, with symbolic emblems that connote Fair and Balanced decision-making; the Chair is made from a unique type of teak wood found only in central India; and it took nearly a year for 12 craftsmen, working 8 hours a day to complete the job! (Extract from ‘Bengal to Barbados’: Sabir Nakhuda).
NATIONAL HEROES & NOTABLE FIGURES OF GOVERNMENT
The Barbados Parliament honours key figures that have shaped the nation’s political landscape; with the bust of Sir Conrad Reeves, the first Black knighted official and Chief Justice from 1886 to 1902 located on the upper landing of the East Wing’s main entrance. Tributes include National Heroes: The Right Excellent: Samuel Jackman Prescod, Dr. Charles Duncan O’Neal, Sir Grantley Adams and Errol Walton Barrow. Also observed in portraiture, are past Prime Ministers of Barbados; along with The Honourable, Mia Amor Mottley, Barbados’ first female prime minister who currently serves as the nation’s leader. Today, the Barbados Parliament Buildings serve not only as the political nerve center of the nation, but also as a repository of history. Guided tours conducted here provide an in-depth exploration of the chambers, allowing the public to appreciate the architectural splendour and historical significance of this enduring institution. As Barbados now charts its way as a new republic, these hallowed halls stand as a reminder of the island’s journey from colonialism to sovereign self-determination. Read on…..an Ode to the Parliament Buildings.
Beneath the bluest sky they stand Stone and Story, hand in hand. Centuries carved in coral bright, a nation’s dream in morning light. Once the voice of crown and chain; where laws were signed in England’s name. Yet whispers stirred in hallowed halls, Independence called beyond those walls. Now the clock hands sweep anew, a dawn of gold; and republic true. No monarch’s crest, no distant throne —our land, our fate; our very own. Still they stand, those walls of time, witness to our steepest climb. From whispers bold to voices free, resounds the word…. Democracy. Anon.
Your tour ends at the Dining Room where refreshments are on sale. Do also visit our local vendors’ stalls, and take in a mini tour (10 minutes) of the immediate environs conducted by Trust guides. Enjoy your day with us!
Thank you for coming! Please join us next Saturday, April 12 at Bagatelle Great House in St. Thomas.


